Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Election result for N45 Galas

This page is reserved for the upcoming polling result (slated on Nov 04) for N45 Galas. Read also P185 Batu Sapi election result.

08:30pm: Official result: Barisan Nasional regains Galas. Ab Aziz Yusoff (BN) 5324 votes, Dr Zulkefli Mohamad (PAS) 4134; Majority: 1190
07:23pm: Unofficial results BN leads by slim majority midway in the tallying process
06:45pm: Final voter turnout 9,555 voters or 82.71%.
04:20pm: EC: Voter turnout as at 4pm is 7,561 or 66.23%.
01:30pm: Voter turnout is 55.75% or 6,441 voters, EC announces.
10:15am: Voter turnout as at 10am is 24.02% or 2,775 voters. The figure does not include turnout in six orang asli polling stations.

The Election Commission (EC) has set Nov 4 as polling day for the Galas state assembly seat, if there is a contest, while nomination day is Oct 26, its deputy chairman, Datuk Wan Ahmad Wan Omar announced.

He said the election would use the Master Electoral Roll (DPI) 2009 which was merged with the First Quarter and Second Quarter Supplementary Electoral Roll 2010, which had been updated up to Sept 27.

He said the EC had also set Wednesday as the day of issuing the writ and Thursday for the notice of election.

“The EC had received the official notification from the Kelantan state assembly speaker on Sept 28 regarding the vacancy in the State Assembly seat N45 for Galas, Kelantan following the death of the incumbent Assemblyman Chek Hashim Sulaima on Sept 27.

“Subsequently, the EC had a special meeting on the matter and decided that a by-election would be held within 60 days of the date of vacancy to fill up the vacant seat,” he said at a media conference at the EC headquarters, here.

Chek Hashim, 46, from PAS, died of cancer.

In the 2008 general election, Chek Hashim wrested the Galas state seat located in the Gua Musang parliamentary constituency from the Barisan Nasional with a majority of 646 votes.

Wan Ahmad said Galas had 11,553 registered voters comprising 11,426 ordinary voters and 127 postal voters.

He said of the total, 7,125 voters were Malays, while 2,317 voters were Chinese, Indians (185), Sarawak Bumiputera (10), Orang Asli (1,889) and others (27).-Bernama


Related Posts with Thumbnails