Monday, August 24, 2009

Permatang Pasir By-Election Result

By-Election Result 2009 for Permatang Pasir constituency.

PAS’s Mohd Salleh Man has won the Permatang Pasir state vote here in Penang by a big majority of 4,551 votes.

Official results show Mohd Salleh polled 9,618 votes while Barisan Nasional’s (BN) Rohaizat Othman received 5,067 votes.

The win for PAS was widely expected as the seat is within Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s Permatang Pauh parliamentary stronghold.

PAS’s handsome win also appears to indicate that in PR’s own backyard, they are unbeatable.

The win also comes despite Umno’s attempt to portray Anwar as a traitor to the Malays, while simultaneously playing the race and religion card.

Today’s turnout was 73.1 per cent compared to last year’s 82.57 per cent.
11:45am: Voter turn-out as of 11am is 38.9%.

Please bookmarked this page for more updates.

~ If you like this informative post, please subscribe to my full RSS Feed


Related Posts with Thumbnails