Billy Abit received his Datukship from the Agong while Sg Asap dwellers still ponders their lucks of having muddy roads to the longhouses. Sg Asap is under Hulu Rejang in which Abit is the Member of Parliament.

If Sg Asap and other areas in Hulu Rejang benefited for Abit contributions then I think only then he deserved the Datukship.

Belum tolong rakyat sudah jadi Datuk

If you like this informative post, please subscribe to my full RSS Feed



Chan Siaw Hee, Abit head list of S’wakians for awards

By Ting Tieng Hee

KUCHING: Chan Siaw Hee, one of the founders of Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), and Hulu Rajang MP Billy Abit, head the list of Sarawakians who will be conferred awards on the occasion of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s birthday today.

Chan, 84, and Abit, 59, will be conferred Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN), which carries the title ‘Datuk’.

Chan is one of prominent Chinese personalities in Sarawak, having been an active politician and actively involved in Chinese community work and associations.

He has also contributed immensely to the promotion and support of Chinese education in the state.

In politics, Chan is one of the pioneer founders of Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) and has served as its education and publicity chief.

Apart from being a senior SUPP party member, Chan also holds important positions in the Kuching Chinese General Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Kuching Chung Hua Middle Schools No. 1, 3 and 4 Board of Management, Associated Chinese Commerce and Industry, Federation of Kuching and Samarahan Divisions Chinese Associations, Kuching Hokkien Association and Sarawak Chawan Association.

Chan was born in Kuching on 1924 and received his primary education at the Kuching Hokkien School.

He continued his English education at St Thomas’ Secondary School in 1939.

In 1952, he set up the Sarawak Transport Company Bhd, and entered community services in 1960.

Chan participated in the Kuching District Council’s elections in 1956 and served as its councillor for 26 years until 1982. He is the father of former Kuching City South Council mayor and former Batu Lintang assemblyman — Chan Seng Khai.

Abit, meanwhile, is a vice president of Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and he has been the Hulu Rajang MP since 1990.

Fifty-one people will receive the PJN in conjunction with the Agong’s birthday this year. Fourteen categories of awards and medals would be conferred to 1,862 people, including 46 Sarawakians or people who live in the state.

Sarawak Commissioner of Police Mohmad Salleh, is the only one in the state to receive the Johan Mangku Negara (JMN) this year.

Another SUPP leader, Toh Heng San (formerly Engkilili assemblyman) and Ninth Brigade Commander Brig Jen Mohd Shukuri Ahmad will receive the Johan Setia Mahkota (JSM).

Eleven others will receive the Kesatria Mangku Negara (KMN). They include Sibu Resident Chai Moi Fong, Senior Legal Officer Francis Johen Adam, SMK Agama Tun Ahmad Zaidi principal Amnah Mohd Salleh, Sibu Water Board general manager Daniel Wong, and NREB Controller Dr Penguang Manggil. There are also four politicians from the state who will receive the KMN. They are Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) information chief Sim Hang Seng, SUPP deputy youth chief Lawrence Lai, PRS information chief Richard Wil Uban, and PRS supreme council member Alexander Vincent.

There are 17 Ahli Mangku Negara (AMN) recipients from the state including State Election officer Takon Sunggah, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry Sarawak director Rodin Mamat, and State Library CEO Rashidah Bolhassan.

The most number of awards given out this year are the PPN at 764, including 14 from Sarawak, followed by AMN (559), and KMN (306).

The majority of the recipients are those from the civil service at 720, while those from political organisations make up only 460 recipients.


Related Posts with Thumbnails