Monday, September 15, 2008

Lest We Forget - Sarawak Flags

Flags of Negeri Sarawak "Bumi Kenyalang", State of Sarawak "Land of the Hornbill"

The current Sarawak flag was first raised at the National Day parade in Kuching on August 31, 1988.

Interpretation of the three colours

Red Colour: symbolises the courage, determination and sacrifices of the people in their tireless pursuit to attain and maintain progress and esteem in the course of creating a model State;

Yellow Colour: denotes the supremacy of Law and Order, unity and stability in diversity;

Black Colour: symbolises the rich natural resources and wealth of Sarawak such as petroleum, timber etc. which provide the foundation for the advancement of the people;

The Yellow nine pointed Star denotes the nine divisions where the people live in harmony. The Star symbol also embodies the aspiration of the people of Sarawak in their quest to improve their quality of life.

Current Sarawak Flag 1988 - 2008

Sarawak State Flag 1973-1988

The flag was instituted on 31-8-1973 (in remembrance of 10 years inclusion within the Federation of Malaysia). The colours of the flag are the national colors, to which symbolic significance as attributed: courage and perseverance (red), honesty and purity (white); and national feeling (blue).

Sarawak State Flag 1963-1973

When Sarawak became part of Malaysia on 16 September 1963 the State flag remained unchanged.

Crown Colony of Sarawak 1946-1963

Kingdom of Sarawak 1870-1946

~ If you like this informative post, please subscribe to my full RSS Feed


Related Posts with Thumbnails